Posted in Of Bloggingly, Of Culturel, Of Funnies, Of Life's Dramedies, Of Writingly

Of Why People Don’t Read Blogs

simpson blogs

Recently, after a massive altercation between the staff and a few students of a university (which I attended a few moons ago), the news media spoke to other students in the aftermath. I won’t get into the details of what happened, but as I glanced at some news channel my mother was watching that was covering the story, I chanced upon a certain interview. This was between a man, probably a student, who was asked by the reporter what his opinions were about the event. By now, the incident had attained a political colour, and the man, with a smirk, replied along the lines of, “My opinion is what is written on my t-shirt.” I doubt whether he used the word opinion, dirty, much abused word as it is. In fact, this young gent had the least interest in being political, for his shirt read, I don’t want to read your blog.”

I was concerned for the students and what consequences politicizing the event may have. But, I was a little hurt by this remark. Well, he didn’t actually say it, and he certainly didn’t say it to me. But c’mon, he wore a t-shirt that says it. And it got me into a train of thought, that ended up putting forth this unanswerable question – why do some people hate blogs?

This university contains some of the best minds in the country. I was thrilled that they were willing to have me, though I didn’t make any use of the opportunity. But, what I did assume was its distinct attitude. It has its own brand of holier-than-thou, and most of us are embarrassed by it. We are especially aware of it when we speak to people on the outside, who are further confirmed in their distaste for our hoity-toity, up-your-arse way of being. Believe me, it took me unemployment and a quarter-life crisis to shake it off. Now, let me have a stab at why this young man is not interested in reading blogs written by a)bloggers who come across him when he is wearing his t-shirt b) other bloggers (such as, yours truly) who watched him on TV. Here are some of my guesses:

1) Why do you write about something when you don’t have a formal knowledge in it(i.e., a degree)?
2) Bad grammar, rambly writing.(he he, the kind of word a blogger makes up).
3)You’re just spewing opinions. What use are they when everybody’s got one?
4) If you’re so clever, why don’t you write a book instead? Mind you, I might come at you with a “I don’t want to read your self-published book.” t-shirt next time. If it ain’t Random House at least, I’m not gonna bother.

Let’s face a couple of brutal truths about our blog reading, and reading in general. We read because we want to improve our knowledge. And we read because we want to feel the satisfaction of understanding what we have read. Mind you, I am deeply satisfied having read a Philosophy or News blog as much as the next person. But, if I’m awake at 1:40 am, with nothing better to do than read blogs(which makes me wonder why that would happen), I’d rather be reading ones on Doctor Who. Not to undermine the complexity of the show, but because I enjoy it as much as 8-12 year olds, who are its intended audience. My point is, people who think reading blogs is beneath them, do so because they just don’t think they are worth their time, and more importantly, their brains. To them, you have to earn the right to have opinions. You have to go through the multiple, linear channels of attaining knowledge. There are people who would value a paper on Doctor Who only if it was written by a quantum physicist. I am not saying everyone’s a Sheldon Cooper, but they wouldn’t mind being so.

I have written for traditional media. I’ve been trying to make a career in academics. And let me tell you this. While I can’t tell you exactly how I feel about reading blogs, I sure as hell find it liberating to write one. If only I could have these blog entries as conversations with people in real life. If only we didn’t limit our attention to what people have to say unless it comes out in a book. Blogging is old. And you know what, there are many important people, who are doing or will do important things in life, that began their journey with, or had a friend in their blog. I read at least five people everyday who provide me with more value than many professionals sitting on my shelf. And if this young man tucked his t-shirt away at the back of his closet and bothered to give reading blogs a try, he might discover someone who will be significant to the world, but before that, to him.

Author:

Writer, Blogger, Kate Bush Fanatic

6 thoughts on “Of Why People Don’t Read Blogs

  1. I am new at the blog thing … but I already love writing! I would love to have many more conversations with people on topics I have in blog posts!! I find it liberating because im generally a listener in my world …but my blog offers me expression. Keep writing!

  2. Discovered your blog on freshly pressed and it’s great and a joy to read!
    Sometimes, I think the reason why blogging is popular is because people don’t want to have a full 10 minute conversation with others. With smartphones and the rush around us, I think we miss having long conversations :/

    1. Thank you so much!
      You’re so right. I find it so strange that people in my life would rather read what I have to say than listen to it in conversation. With blogging, I, at least, have an outlet to say what I’m burning to say, with the hope that someone out there listens to it.
      Thank you again for reading!

Leave a comment